Library PBIS Award#1 James Simmons

Chaney High School Library PBIS Award #1 goes to James Simmons. James sought out the book Lightning Thief by discussing the "protagonist".
Literary vocabulary applied, WOW!
"Positive Behavioral Interventions & Supports (PBIS) is a broad range of systemic and individualized strategies for achieving important social and learning outcomes in school communities while preventing problem behavior. The key attributes of PBIS include preventive activities, data-based decision making, and a problem-solving orientation (Horner, 2000; Lewis & Sugai, 1999; Sugai et.al., 2000; Weigle, 1997.)" _Ohio Department of Education Website

CHANEY REPRESENTS

"By day, Jess Wade is an experimental physicist at Imperial College London. But at night, she's a contributor to Wikipedia — where she writes entries about women and POC scientists. She chats with Emily Kwong about how Wikipedia can influence the direction of scientific research and why it's important to have entries about scientists from under-represented communities.

Here are the Wikipedia entries of the scientists mentioned in today's show: Sarah Gilbert, Kizzmekia Corbett, Gladys West, and of course, Jess Wade.

Email us at ShortWave@npr.org.

This episode was produced by Thomas Lu, edited by Viet Le, and fact-checked by Ariela Zebede."

NPR Morning Edition 10/18/22

CHANEY REPRESENTS IS A PROJECT OF THE CHANEY HIGH SCHOOL LIBRARY. OUR STUDENTS RESEARCH WOMEN SCIENTISTS, SCIENTISTS OF COLOR AND OTHER FOLKS UNDERREPRESENTED ON WIKIPEDIA IN THE AREA OF SCIENCE.

They write a short piece, well vetted (sources cited) on an uncovered scientist or supplementing an article began by Ms. Wade. They have it proofed at the Library and they publish it to Wikipedia.


Chaney Represents
Following in the Footsteps of

Jess Wade

"Gender bias on Wikipedia[edit]

A controversy regarding allegations that insufficient coverage within the English-language Wikipedia is being given to women making contributions to science became widely noted when the 12 April 2019 Washington Post published an op-ed entitled The Black Hole Photo Is Just One Example of Championing Women in Science,[64] co-authored by Zaringhalam and Wade. In part, the article decried that previous discussions among Wikipedia's volunteer editors resulted in the biographical entries originally created by Wade for some female scientists non-inclusion on the website,[65][66] one from among hundreds of articles on women scientists that Wade had contributed to that time, with perhaps approximately one percent of these submissions declined.[14]

With regard to one such article, Wade had heard about nuclear chemist Clarice Phelps from Kit Chapman, who had been conducting research for his book Superheavy: Making and Breaking the Periodic Table (2019) with intention "to make science more accessible. I hope that looking back and seeing this cast and some of the diversity that’s reflected in the past, we can get more diversity in the future."[67] Wade created a short Wikipedia biography of Phelps in September 2018.[68] The deletion of that article on 11 February 2019[65] led to a prolonged editorial discussion and, approaching a type of dispute discouraged among the website's volunteer administrators,[69][70][71] its repeated restoration and re-deletion.[72] Chemistry World said:[41]

In Phelps’ case, her name didn’t appear in the articles announcing tennessine’s discovery. She wasn’t profiled by mainstream media. Most mentions of her work are on her employer’s website – a source that’s not classed as independent by Wikipedia standards and therefore not admissible when it comes to establishing notability. The [Wikipedia] community consensus was that her biography had to go.

Wade told Chemistry World she believes such omissions of scientific researchers from coverage in Wikipedia are regrettable, stating her impression that it accepts entries for even the most obscure popular-media figures.[41] By January 2020, there was a consensus to restore the article, as by then new sources had become available.[73]

Wade gave one of the final lightning talks at the 2021 Wikimania online conference, titled "Science and storytelling: Why who we talk about matters".[74]"

Shot Clock

Alumni Interviews

books

Library Pals

Mrs. Dorbish Class Visit

Mrs. Dorbish......Class Library Visit

Walter Dean Myers and other Favorites

When your students love Walter Dean Myers

Star Girl

Best Book in the Whole Wide World!

Books ARE BETTER With FRIENDS!

Books ARE BETTER With FRIENDS!

Book it!

Enchanting

Sophisticated Taste

Sophisticated Taste

Browsing The Stacks

Browsing the Stacks

Mentors and Friends

Mentors and Friends

checking out a few books

Check it out!

book selection

That fit is on point! Amirite?

Yearbooks for alumni and family

Our YCSD Alumni and their families love digging into old yearbooks in our Library.
Our Wilson grads find many of their yearbooks here.
Mr. Adduci found his Grandfather's South High graduation and other photos!

Hispanic Heritage Month

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month (Many More Great Resources at this link to Facing History and Ourselves)

Latinx Rights in 1960s California (multimedia resource collection)

In the 1960s, historically marginalized groups across the United States organized to claim the rights they had long been denied. The lessons below help educators and students explore two pivotal moments in the Latinx rights movement in California: the East LA school walkouts in 1968 and the Delano grape workers’ strike that began in 1965.

  1. California Grape Workers’ Strike: 1965-66 (lesson)

  2. The 1968 East LA School Walkouts (lesson)

Schooling for Critical Consciousness: A Conversation with Scott Seider and Daren Graves (on-demand webinar)

Listen in on this previously recorded webinar with Scott Seider and Daren Graves, co-authors of Schooling for Critical Consciousness: Engaging Black and Latinx Youth in Analyzing, Navigating, and Challenging Racial Injustice. Here they explore pedagogical approaches that empower educators and their students to analyze, navigate, and challenge racial injustice.

Your art is precious!

preserve it

with a cold laminate

courtesy of our

Chaney High

School Library

poster art laminate

Chaney High School Library
Librarian Kathleen O'Connell Sauline

Authors Interviewed

Cleveland (Tremont) Author, Justin A. Reynolds to visit Chaney High School on Tuesday, Oct. 25th, 2022

9:00AM

High School Auditorium

Various groups of Chaney High School Students, including our Chaney High School Library Advisory Board Members and our Men's and Women's Basketball Team Members, received the gift of Reynold's and Caron Butler's latest book release "SHOT CLOCK"! These students will read the book and attend Reynold's Author talk here at Chaney High School on October 25, 2022.

"Former NBA All-Star Caron Butler and acclaimed author Justin A. Reynolds tip off the first book in a new middle grade series about a young boy trying to make his mark on an AAU basketball team coached by a former NBA star in his hometown. Perfect for fans of The Crossover and the Track series. A Junior Library Guild Selection!

Tony loves basketball. But the game changed recently when his best friend, Dante, a hoops phenom, was killed by a police officer. Tony hopes he can carry on Dante’s legacy by making the Sabres, the AAU basketball team Dante took to two national championships.

Tony doesn’t make the team, but Coach James likes what he sees from Tony at tryouts and offers him another chance: join the team as the statistician. With his community reeling and the team just finding its footing on the court, can Tony find a path to healing while helping to bring the Sabres a championship?"

Shot Clock and it's Authors

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

Chaney High School Library

Student Advisory Board

Student Advisory Board

MacArthur Foundation Journalism Project Values 9/7/2022

MacArthur Foundation Values Chaney High School Library Journalism Project

Video: MacArthur’s Commitment to Journalism and Media

See How We Shine!

See How We Shine!

Facilitating Our Eligible Students in Voter Registration

Thank You for Facilitating Our Eligible Students in
Voter Registration!

cuz luv

gym books

Old School

Library Geek

Another Weld

Cooking the Books

Poet and Alum

alum interview students and students interview alum

interview across generations of YCSD

Super Reader brings lunch

student request will you sing happy birthday to my mom and I can film it

may I take another