Mrs. Dorbish Class Visit

Mrs. Dorbish......Class Library Visit

Walter Dean Myers and other Favorites

When your students love Walter Dean Myers

Star Girl

Best Book in the Whole Wide World!

Books ARE BETTER With FRIENDS!

Books ARE BETTER With FRIENDS!

Book it!

Enchanting

Sophisticated Taste

Sophisticated Taste

Browsing The Stacks

Browsing the Stacks

Mentors and Friends

Mentors and Friends

checking out a few books

Check it out!

book selection

That fit is on point! Amirite?

Yearbooks for alumni and family

Our YCSD Alumni and their families love digging into old yearbooks in our Library.
Our Wilson grads find many of their yearbooks here.
Mr. Adduci found his Grandfather's South High graduation and other photos!

Hispanic Heritage Month

Celebrate Hispanic Heritage Month (Many More Great Resources at this link to Facing History and Ourselves)

Latinx Rights in 1960s California (multimedia resource collection)

In the 1960s, historically marginalized groups across the United States organized to claim the rights they had long been denied. The lessons below help educators and students explore two pivotal moments in the Latinx rights movement in California: the East LA school walkouts in 1968 and the Delano grape workers’ strike that began in 1965.

  1. California Grape Workers’ Strike: 1965-66 (lesson)

  2. The 1968 East LA School Walkouts (lesson)

Schooling for Critical Consciousness: A Conversation with Scott Seider and Daren Graves (on-demand webinar)

Listen in on this previously recorded webinar with Scott Seider and Daren Graves, co-authors of Schooling for Critical Consciousness: Engaging Black and Latinx Youth in Analyzing, Navigating, and Challenging Racial Injustice. Here they explore pedagogical approaches that empower educators and their students to analyze, navigate, and challenge racial injustice.

Your art is precious!

preserve it

with a cold laminate

courtesy of our

Chaney High

School Library

poster art laminate

Chaney High School Library
Librarian Kathleen O'Connell Sauline

Authors Interviewed

Cleveland (Tremont) Author, Justin A. Reynolds to visit Chaney High School on Tuesday, Oct. 25th, 2022

Various groups of Chaney High School Students, including our Chaney High School Library Advisory Board Members and our Men's and Women's Basketball Team Members, received the gift of Reynold's and Caron Butler's latest book release "SHOT CLOCK"! These students will read the book and attend Reynold's Author talk here at Chaney High School on October 25, 2022.

"Former NBA All-Star Caron Butler and acclaimed author Justin A. Reynolds tip off the first book in a new middle grade series about a young boy trying to make his mark on an AAU basketball team coached by a former NBA star in his hometown. Perfect for fans of The Crossover and the Track series. A Junior Library Guild Selection!

Tony loves basketball. But the game changed recently when his best friend, Dante, a hoops phenom, was killed by a police officer. Tony hopes he can carry on Dante’s legacy by making the Sabres, the AAU basketball team Dante took to two national championships.

Tony doesn’t make the team, but Coach James likes what he sees from Tony at tryouts and offers him another chance: join the team as the statistician. With his community reeling and the team just finding its footing on the court, can Tony find a path to healing while helping to bring the Sabres a championship?"

Shot Clock and it's Authors

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

Author Visit Prep

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

reading

Chaney High School Library

Student Advisory Board

Student Advisory Board

MacArthur Foundation Journalism Project Values 9/7/2022

MacArthur Foundation Values Chaney High School Library Journalism Project

Video: MacArthur’s Commitment to Journalism and Media

See How We Shine!

See How We Shine!

Facilitating Our Eligible Students in Voter Registration

Thank You for Facilitating Our Eligible Students in
Voter Registration!